Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
11 July 2023

The Doors Announce ‘Live At The Matrix 1967: The Original Masters’

The Doors
Spread the love

The Doors have announced the release of Live At The Matrix 1967: The Original Masters – the most complete document to date of their 7-11 March 1967 run of shows at the San Francisco club. The set will be available on 3CD or 5LP+7″ on 8 September.

pre-order the doors live at the matrix 1967:the original masters here

The 5LP set is limited to 14,000 copies worldwide and comes with a 7″ of a previously unreleased recording exclusive to the vinyl edition – the 7 March take of the jazz instrumental Bag’s Groove. The 3CD edition is limited to 21,000 numbered copies. Bag’s Groove is one of two never-before-heard recordings, along with All Blues.

The Doors were a few months away from stardom in March 1967 when they played five sparsely attended shows at a small club in San Francisco called The Matrix. These uninhibited performances would have been fleeting if not for Peter Abram, who co-owned the pizza parlour-turned-nightclub with Jefferson Airplane founder Marty Balin. An avid recordist, Abram taped concerts at The Matrix regularly and his recordings of The Doors spawned one of the band’s most storied bootlegs.

Bootlegs of The Matrix shows have circulated among fans for years and were popular despite the poor audio quality of most copies. The sound began improving in 1997 when the first two songs from The Matrix shows were officially released on The Doors: Box Set. Even more performances followed in 2008 on Live at the Matrix 1967; regrettably, it was discovered soon after that all the recordings were sourced from third-generation tapes, not the originals.

Abram’s original recordings have been remastered for this definitive release by Bruce Botnick, The Doors’ longtime engineer/mixer. The vinyl version of Live At The Matrix 1967: The Original Masters includes all 37 songs from the shows sourced from the master tapes. Except for 15 songs released in 2017 and 2018 as Record Store Day exclusives, most of the newly upgraded live recordings are making their debut in the collection, including eight that have never been featured on any of the previous Matrix releases.

It’s easy to understand the enduring appeal of these vintage performances by Jim Morrison, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger, and John Densmore. Recorded only a few months before Light My Fire propelled the band to worldwide success, the tapes capture The Doors playing a wide range of songs, including several from their self-titled debut, like Break On Through, Soul Kitchen, and The End. They also performed half the songs destined for the group’s soon-to-be-recorded second album, Strange Days, including early performances of Moonlight Drive and People Are Strange. 15 Sets of music over five nights at The Matrix gave the band time to indulge its love of the blues with extended covers of I’m A King Bee and Crawling King Snake. The Doors even delivered an instrumental version of Summertime.

5LP Track Listing

LP One: Side One
(March 7, 1967) First Set
1. Back Door Man
2. My Eyes Have Seen You *
3. Soul Kitchen
4. All Blues – Instrumental *

Side Two
1. Get Out Of My Life Woman **
2. When The Music’s Over *

LP Two: Side One
(March 7, 1967) Second Set
1. Close To You **
2. Crawling King Snake **
3. I Can’t See Your Face In My Mind
4. People Are Strange
5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)

Side Two
1. Crystal Ship
2. Twentieth Century Fox
Third Set
3. Moonlight Drive
4. Summer’s Almost Gone *
5. Unhappy Girl

LP Three: Side One
(March 7, 1967) Third Set
1. Woman Is A Devil/Rock Me Baby **
2. Break On Through (To The Other Side) **
3. Light My Fire

Side Two
1. The End
2. The End (Partial) / Let’s Feed Ice Cream To The Rats (from March 8 or 9, 1967)

LP Four: Side One
(March 10, 1967) First Set
1. My Eyes Have Seen You
2. Soul Kitchen **
3. I Can’t See Your Face In My Mind **
4. People Are Strange **

Side Two
1. When The Music’s Over
Second Set
2. Money **
3. Who Do You Love **

LP Five: Side One
(March 10, 1967) Second Set
1. Moonlight Drive *
2. Summer’s Almost Gone
3. I’m A King Bee **
4. Gloria **

Side Two
1. Break On Through (To The Other Side)” *
Third Set
2. Summertime – Instrumental **
3. Back Door Man**
4. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) *

7” Single
March 7, 1967 (First Set)
Bag’s Groove – Instrumental *

*Previously Unreleased
**First Time Released From Original Master Tapes

pre-order the doors live at the matrix 1967:the original masters here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up