Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
16 March 2023

Talking Heads Announce ‘Stop Making Sense’ Deluxe Vinyl Reissue

Talking Heads
Spread the love

Talking Heads have announced a deluxe version of the Stop Making Sense soundtrack, which will include the complete concert for the first time.

Stop Making Sense (Deluxe Edition) will be available on 18 August as a limited edition, 2LP set and digitally along with a Dolby Atmos mix of the complete concert, mixed by Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren, who also mixed the original release.


Both versions will feature every song performed in the film, including two that have never been released – Cities and Big Business/I Zimbra. The limited-edition vinyl version features a 28-page booklet with previously unpublished photos along with new liner notes from all four band members – Tina Weymouth, David Byrne, Chris Frantz, and Jerry Harrison.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the concerts filmed for Stop Making Sense, a newly restored 4K version of the landmark Jonathan Demme-directed concert film will return to cinemas for a global theatrical run.

Former Talking Heads frontman David Byrne writes about the Stop Making Sense soundtrack in his new liner notes: “We had done a live album before this, but coupled with the film, and with the improved mixes and sound quality, this record reached a whole new audience. As often happens, the songs got an added energy when we performed them live and were inspired by having an audience. In many ways, these versions are more exciting than the studio recordings, so maybe that’s why a lot of folks discovered us via this record.”

STOP MAKING SENSE (DELUXE EDITION) – Limited Edition 2-LP Track Listing

Side One

1. Psycho Killer
2. Heaven
3. Thank You For Sending Me An Angel
4. Found A Job
5. Slippery People
6. Cities *

Side Two

1. Burning Down The House
2. Life During Wartime
3. Making Flippy Floppy
4. Swamp

Side Three

1. What a Day That Was
2. This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
3. Once In A Lifetime
4. Big Business/I Zimbra *

Side Four

1. Genius Of Love
2. Girlfriend Is Better
3. Take Me To The River
4. Crosseyed And Painless

* Previously Unreleased


Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up