Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
20 July 2023

Fleetwood Mac Announce ‘Rumours Live’

Press/Herbert Worthington
Spread the love

Fleetwood Mac will release Rumours Live – a double live album recorded in August 1977 and featuring nearly 90 minutes of unreleased music – on 8 September. The 2CD or 2LP set is available to pre-order now. The first taste of the album, a version of Dreams, has already been shared, listen now.

pre-order fleetwood mac’s rumours live now

The band were at the top of their game in August 1977 when they returned to their adopted home in Southern California to play three shows at The Forum in Los Angeles. Rumours had only been out a few weeks when the band left in February to tour the world, returning six months later to play three shows at The Forum for nearly 50,000 fans.

Rumours was the No 1 album in America and well on its way to becoming one of the most successful ever released. Rumours eventually sold more than 40 million copies worldwide and has just been certified 21x platinum in the US. The record has also been certified 14x Platinum in the UK., and 13x Platinum in Australia and New Zealand, all countries where the album reached No 1.

Rumours Live
captures the energy and excitement of the band’s opening night at The Forum on 29 August 1977. The nearly 90-minute performance includes live versions of most of the songs from Rumours and Fleetwood Mac, the group’s first multi-platinum No 1 album, which came out in 1975.

The concert remained totally unreleased for decades until 2021, when Gold Dust Woman from the show was included as a bonus track on Live: Deluxe Edition, Rhino’s expanded version of Fleetwood Mac’s 1980 concert album. The other 17 songs on the collection have never been released before.

The black vinyl version has two 180-gram records in a gatefold jacket with lacquers cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Pre-order HERE. Also, a crystal clear-vinyl version of Rumours Live will be released the same day exclusively at Walmart.

The concert’s setlist draws almost exclusively from Fleetwood Mac and Rumours, the first two albums recorded by the band’s latest incarnation: Mick Fleetwood, John McVie, and Christine McVie, and the newest members, Stevie Nicks, and Lindsey Buckingham. The lone nod to Fleetwood Mac’s other nine studio albums is a performance of Oh Well, a rock-guitar masterpiece originally released in 1969 and written by the band’s founder, guitarist Peter Green.

Engineer Ken Caillat, who helped record Rumours, recorded the concert at The Forum using the Record Plant’s mobile recording truck. He captured the band’s impassioned performance at a moment of peak Rumours frenzy, including powerful versions of Landslide, Never Going Back Again, Songbird, and The Chain.

RUMOURS LIVE – 2LP Tracklisting

LP One

Side One

1. Say You Love Me
2. Monday Morning
3. Dreams
4. Oh Well
5. Rhiannon

Side Two

1. Oh Daddy
2. Never Going Back Again
3. Landslide
4. Over My Head
5. Gold Dust Woman

LP Two

Side One

1. You Make Loving Fun
2. I’m So Afraid
3. Go Your Own Way
4. World Turning

Side Two

1. Blue Letter
2. The Chain
3. Second Hand News
4. Songbird

pre-order fleetwood mac’s rumours live now

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up