Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
05 June 2024

Talking Heads Announce ‘Stop Making Sense’ Deluxe Edition Reissues

Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense deluxe
Spread the love

Talking Heads will celebrate the 40th anniversary of their concert film Stop Making Sense with a 2LP and 2CD/Blu-ray reissue of its soundtrack, out 26 July and available to pre-order now.

pre-order ‘Stop Making Sense’ deluxe edition here

Released last year, the sold-out Deluxe Edition of the soundtrack will return as a 2LP black vinyl on and retail and 2LP crystal clear vinyl at Barnes and Noble. Both variants feature a 12-page booklet with liner notes from all four band members –Tina Weymouth, David Byrne, Chris Frantz, and Jerry Harrison—and band photos.

The 2CD/Blu-ray version includes the entire 28-page booklet from last year’s Deluxe Edition and a Dolby Atmos mix of the complete concert, mixed by Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren, who also mixed the original release. Both will be available on July 26.

David Byrne says, “It’s interesting that this album was – for many people – an introduction to Talking Heads. “We had done a live album before this, but coupled with the film, and with the improved mixes and sound quality, this record reached a whole new audience. As often happens, the songs got an added energy when we performed them live and were inspired by having an audience. In many ways, these versions are more exciting than the studio recordings, so maybe that’s why a lot of folks discovered us via this record.”

STOP MAKING SENSE (DELUXE EDITION) – Limited Edition 2-LP Track Listing

Side One

1. Psycho Killer
2. Heaven
3. Thank You For Sending Me An Angel
4. Found A Job
5. Slippery People
6. Cities

Side Two

7. Burning Down The House
8. Life During Wartime
9. Making Flippy Floppy
10. Swamp

Side Three

11. What a Day That Was
12. This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
13. Once In A Lifetime
14. Big Business / I Zimbra

Side Four

15. Genius Of Love
16. Girlfriend Is Better
17. Take Me To The River
18. Crosseyed And Painless

pre-order ‘Stop Making Sense’ deluxe edition here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up