Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
25 August 2023

Ramones Debut Album Limited Mono Reissue Announced

The new mono reissue of Ramones' debut album
Spread the love

The classic debut album by Ramones will be reissued on translucent red vinyl on 6 October. The release will mark the first time the 40th anniversary mono mix is available on its own, it will also include a 7″ single of Blitzkrieg Bog b/w Havana Affair.

pre-order Ramones red vinyl reissue here

The new release was mastered by Jeff Powell, pressed at Third Man and strictly limited to 3,000 copies. It’s the first in 70s Rhino Reds, a new series of vinyl reissues from Rhino.

Released in April 1976, Ramones’ debut album is one of the most influential punk albums of all time. Featuring the classics Blitzkrieg Bop and I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend. The 40th anniversary mono mix was included in the deluxe boxed set from 2016. This is the first time the album has been available in mono on its own.

Original album producer Craig Leon, who worked on both the mixing and mastering sessions for the 40th anniversary box set, said that it was always the band’s intention to have the record released in mono to match their stripped-down arrangements, as well as to record at Abbey Road, a “wild idea” that was never before made possible. “I’m so pleased to have been able to present the original two track master from Plaza Sound in 1976 and to recreate the mono mix that was intended to accompany it. Working on Ramones at Abbey Road fulfilled our original intentions and dreams from so long ago.”

Ramones – debut album tracklisting

1. “Blitzkrieg Bop”

2. “Beat on the Brat”

3. “Judy Is a Punk”

4. “I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend”

5. “Chain Saw”

6. “Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue”

7. “I Don’t Wanna Go Down to the Basement”

8. “Loudmouth”

9. “Havana Affair”

10. “Listen to My Heart”

11. “53rd & 3rd”

12. “Let’s Dance”

13. “I Don’t Wanna Walk Around With You”

14. “Today Your Love, Tomorrow the World”

7” *“Blitzkrieg Bop” / “Havana Affair” (Mono)

pre-order Ramones red vinyl reissue here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up