Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
27 January 2023

Gorillaz Share New Single ‘Silent Running’: Listen

Spread the love

Gorillaz have shared another preview of Cracker Island, their upcoming album – listen to Silent Running, featuring Adeleye Omotayo below.

Buy Gorillaz vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett’s cartoon band will release Cracker Island on 24 February 2023 via Parlophone. It can be pre-ordered here.

Damon Albarn said of Silent Running, which features Gorillaz long-time band member Adeleye Omotayo stepping up to lead vocals, that it’s an attempt to capture, “that sort of mesmerising dreamlike state you get in when you’re just following some train of thought.”

Gorillaz frontman 2D added: “Sometimes I get well lost and end up in the wrong place but then it turns out that’s where I was meant to be going anyway.”

Cracker Island will be available in the following formats: digital download (11 tracks); standard (10 tracks) CD including booklet and poster, black 12” vinyl, transparent purple 12” Vinyl; deluxe vinyl box (10 tracks) lift off lid box, opaque pink 12” vinyl, CD, 7” etched single with alternative single art, The Last Cult pink pocket notebook, 5x art prints, 1x poster, 1x sticker sheet; limited edition collectors box (10 tracks) limited edition numbered product, lift off lid box, 10x coloured 7” singles with exclusive screen printed character art on the disc and exclusive art on every sleeve; Cracker Island cassettes (10 tracks) 4x exclusive character art cassettes.

The virtual band, headed up by Damon Albarn, has a host of collaborators on their eighth studio album including Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny, Beck, Thundercat, Adeleye Omotayond and the aforementioned Tame Impala and Bootie Brown.

The album has been produced by eight-time Grammy Award-winning producer, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Greg Kurstin along with Gorillaz and Remi Kabaka Jr.

Press material about Cracker Island states: “Originally based at Kong Studios in West London, the group of musical misfits – Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D – have relocated to Silverlake, California as they recruit new members to join The Last Cult in search of the one truth to fix the world. Reports from the Golden State indicate that Murdoc is in love with the lady next door. Russel is glued to the TV. Noodle is compiling a handbook of wisdom and knowledge. And 2D is busy being 2D.”

Cracker Island tracklist:

Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
Oil (feat. Stevie Nicks)
The Tired Influencer
Silent Running (ft. Adeleye Omotayo)
New Gold (ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown)
Baby Queen
Tormenta (feat. Bad Bunny)
Skinny Ape
Possession Island (feat. Beck)

Buy Gorillaz vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up