Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
21 October 2022

Bowie ‘Oh! You Pretty Things’ Live Version Out Now

David Bowie Divine Symmetry Box set
Photo: Brian Ward/David Bowie Archive
Spread the love

The latest track from the upcoming David Bowie Divine Symmetry set has been shared. Fans can now hear a previously unreleased live version of Oh! You Pretty Things, recorded at Friars, Aylesbury, 25 September, 1971. Only 10 months later Bowie would unveil Ziggy Stardust to the world at the same venue.

Divine Symmetry celebrates the 12 months running up to the release of the album Hunky Dory in December 1971 via 48 tracks of home demos, BBC radio sessions and live and studio recordings.

Buy David Bowie vinyl, CDs and merch at the Dig! store

1971 was a pivotal year for Bowie. He signed a record deal with RCA, he met Andy Warhol, Lou Reed, and Iggy Pop while in New York, became a father and penned the song Kooks as a show of paternal pride, played live for the first time that June with Mick Ronson, Woody Woodmansey and Trevor Bolder, the band that would later be christened the Spiders From Mars and recorded the classic album Hunky Dory.


CD 1:

1 Tired Of My Life (demo) *
2 How Lucky You Are (aka Miss Peculiar) (demo) *
3 Shadow Man (demo)
4 Looking For A Friend (demo) *
5 Waiting For The Man (San Francisco hotel recording) *
6 Quicksand (San Francisco hotel recording) *
7 King Of The City (demo) *
8 Song For Bob Dylan (demo) *
9 Right On Mother (demo) *
10 Quicksand (demo)
11 Queen Bitch (demo) *
12 Kooks (demo) *
13 Amsterdam (demo) *
14 Life On Mars? (demo) *
Bonus acetate dubs:
15 Changes (demo) *
16 Bombers (demo) *

CD 2:

David Bowie and Friends
1 Queen Bitch *
2 Bombers
3 The Supermen *
4 Looking For A Friend
5 Almost Grown
6 Kooks
7 Song For Bob Dylan *
8 Andy Warhol *
9 It Ain’t Easy

David Bowie and Friends

10 Queen Bitch *
11 The Supermen *
12 Looking For A Friend *
13 Kooks *
14 Song For Bob Dylan *
15 Andy Warhol *
16 It Ain’t Easy *

Recorded 3rd June, 1971 and broadcast 20th June, 1971
Paris Cinema Studio, Regent Street, London

CD 3:

1 The Supermen
2 Oh! You Pretty Things
3 Eight Line Poem
4 Kooks *
5 Fill Your Heart *
6 Amsterdam *
7 Andy Warhol *

Session recorded at Kensington House Studio T1 for BBC Radio on
21st September, 1971 and broadcast 4th October, 1971
Live Friars, Aylesbury, 25th September, 1971

8 Introduction*
9 Fill Your Heart*
10 Buzz The Fuzz*
11 Space Oddity*
12 Amsterdam*
13 The Supermen*
14 Oh! You Pretty Things*
15 Eight Line Poem*
16 Changes*
17 Song For Bob Dylan*
18 Andy Warhol*
19 Looking For A Friend*
20 Round And Round*
21 Waiting For The Man*

CD 4:

1 Oh! You Pretty Things
2 Eight Line Poem
3 Kooks
4 Queen Bitch
5 Quicksand
6 Bombers – Andy Warhol intro.
7 Lightning Frightening (aka The Man)*
8 Amsterdam (early mix)
9 Changes (mono single)
10 Andy Warhol (full length mono single)
11 Amsterdam (single b-side mix)
12 Life On Mars? (2016 mix)

2021 mixes
13 Changes (2021 alternative mix)
14 Life On Mars? (original ending version)*
15 Quicksand (2021 mix – early version)*
16 Fill Your Heart (2021 alternative mix)*
17 Bombers (2021 alternative mix)*
18 Song For Bob Dylan (2021 alternative mix)*
19 The Bewlay Brothers (2021 alternative mix)*

Buy David Bowie vinyl, CDs and merch at the Dig! store

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up