Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
09 April 2022

Wilco, St Vincent, Low To Feature On Sleater-Kinney Tribute Album

Spread the love

Wilco, St Vincent, Low, Self Esteem, Courtney Barnett and more are to feature on a new album celebrating 25 years of Sleater-Kinney’s Dig Me Out.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Sleater-Kinney (@sleater_kinney)

Sleater-Kinney posted, “To commemorate 25 years of Dig Me Out, we’re releasing a covers album featuring some of our closest friends and admired artists! We can’t wait to share these unique renditions with you. Coming this summer”

The full list of artists contributing to Dig Me Out – A Covers Album is:

– Big Joanie
– Black Belt Eagle Scout
– Courtney Barnett
– Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires
– The Linda Lindas
– Low
– Margo Price
– Self Esteem
– St Vincent
– Tunde Adesimpe (TV On The Radio)
– Tyler Cole
– Wilco

More artists are due to be announced.

A portion of the proceeds earned from each copy sold will be donated to SMYRC (Sexual & Gender Minority Youth Resource Center), which the band note is their local LGBTQIA+ youth centre in Columbia County, Washington. According to the organisation’s website, SMYRC “provide a safe, harassment-free space for queer and trans youth ages 13-23, where you can create art, play music, and join in on our open mic nights, drag shows, and support groups”.

In other Wilco-related news, last week frontman Jeff Tweedy played his first show with alt-country supergroup since 2008 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Minneapolis music venue First Avenue. The show was initially set to take place in 2020 but was postponed due to the pandemic; the second night was added in a silver linings fashion. The lineup for the weekend included Tweedy, Run Westy Run’s Kraig Johnson, Big Star percussionist Jody Stephens, Gary Louris and Marc Perlman of the Jayhawks, Soul Asylum alum Danny Murphy and violinist Jessy Greene.

Both evenings showcased material from Golden Smog’s albums – 1998’s Weird Tales, 1995’s Down By The Old Mainstream and 2006’s Another Fine Day – all of which feature Tweedy.

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up