Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
08 March 2023

Neil Young Announces Latest ‘Official Bootleg Series’ Releases

best Neil Young songs
Rob Crandall /Alamy
Spread the love

Neil Young has announced the latest two releases in his Official Bootleg Series. High Flyin’ and Somewhere Under The Rainbow will both be released on 14 April 2023 on vinyl and CD at the Greedy Hand Store at Neil Young Archives (NYA) and music retailers everywhere.

Hi-res digital audio will be available at Neil Young Archives and most DSPs. All Greedy Hand Store purchases come with free hi-res digital audio downloads.

Somewhere Under The Rainbow features Young with the Santa Monica Flyers, recorded live at the Rainbow Theatre in London, November 1973. It is a long-cherished show that has been celebrated for its spontaneous and high-revved performance featuring Neil Young (vocals, guitar) and a stellar band, including Nils Lofgren (lead and rhythm guitar, piano, accordion, vocals), Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar, vocals), Billy Talbot (bass, vocals) and Ralph Molina (drums, vocals). The concert has taken on mythic status in the past 50 years for its high-wire performances and semi-unhinged sonics. Recording engineer Pete Long’s liner notes dive right into the thick of the controversial concert, and help listeners relive a place and time that won’t be repeated. A video featuring behind the scenes footage has been released for the version of Human Highway that features on the album.

High Flyin’ is a unique double-live album from the summer of 1977 recorded by a storied Northern California aggregation called The Ducks. It was a band that often made unannounced appearances in their own backyards at clubs like the Back Room, The Crossroads Club, The Catalyst and others, featuring Neil Young (guitar, harmonica and vocals), Bob Mosley (bass and vocals), Jeff Blackburn (guitar and vocals) and Johnny Craviotto (drums & vocals). In the magical time The Ducks existed, the rumours of their shows took on a word-of-mouth excitement that made those in the small audiences feel like the chosen few and allowed bragging rights for all who were lucky enough to be there. The quartet’s set lists included songs from a wide range of the band members’ backgrounds and were often decided on the night of the shows. This new collection of those nights, as well as two evenings at the nearby Magical Devices studio have been bootlegged for decades – High Flyin’ is an official release many fans never thought would happen. Listen to Little Wing from High Flyin’ below.

OBS 2: The Ducks’ High Flyin’

Vinyl Tracklisting:

Side 1

1. I Am a Dreamer
2. Younger Days
3. Gypsy Wedding
4. Are You Ready For The Country?
5. Hold On Boys

Side 2

1. My My My (Poor Man)
2. I’m Tore Down
3. Hey Now
4. Wide Eyed and Willing
5. Truckin’ Man

Side 3

1. Sail Away
2. Gone Dead Train
3. Silver Wings

Side 4

1. Human Highway
2. Your Love
3. I’m Ready
4. Little Wing
5. Car Tune

Side 5

1. Windward Passage
2. Leaving Us Now
3. Mr. Soul

Side 6

1. Two Riders
2. Honky Tonk Man
3. Sailor Man
4. Silver Wings

OBS 6: Somewhere Under The Rainbow

Vinyl Tracklisting:

Side 1

1. Tonight’s The Night
2. Mellow My Mind
3. World On A String
4. Speakin’ Out
5. Albuquerque

Side 2

1. New Mama
2. Roll Another Number (For The Road)
3. Tired Eyes
4. Tonight’s The Night – Part II

Side 3

1. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
2. Human Highway
3. Helpless

Side 4

1. Don’t Be Denied
2. Cowgirl In The Sand

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up