Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
08 January 2024

Neil Young Announces First Vinyl Release Of ‘Dume’

Neil Young Dume cover
Spread the love

Neil Young has announced the first-ever vinyl release of Dume, a 16-track compilation of mid-70s recordings with Crazy Horse, first released on 2020’s Archives II CD set. Dume will be released on 23 February 2024 and is available to pre-order now.

pre-order neil young and crazy horse’s ‘dume’ here

The limited-edition double album features recordings from the historic Zuma album sessions by Neil Young & Crazy Horse, some of which remained unreleased until their inclusion on Archives II. Neil Young, Crazy Horse, and producer David Briggs were living in the Point Dume area of Malibu and recording at their own direction. After the tumultuous sessions for Young’s classic 1975 album Tonight’s The Night, the group felt open and free, resulting in the classic Crazy Horse guitar rock of Zuma. In assembling Dume – initially released as Disc 8 of Archives Vol II – Young’s plan was to weave songs from the album with unreleased tracks and mixes from that period. Dume uses the Zuma album as a starting point and expanding that scope into a brand-new entity over its 16 tracks.

Neil Young wrote about the sessions in his 2014 book Special Deluxe, “Our setup in Briggs’ Dume garage was tight and comfortable. The Green Board was right down the hall, out of sight of the control room, which was a rec room bar. There was no video monitor. Briggs just listened and talked to us.”

Neil Young – Dume tracklisting:

Side A
1. Ride My Llama
2. Cortez The Killer*
3. Don’t Cry No Tears*
4. Born To Run’

Side B
1. Barstool Blues*
2. Danger Bird*
3. Stupid Girl*
4. Kansas

Side C
1. Powderfinger
2. Hawaii
3. Drive Back*

Side D
1. Lookin’ For A Love*
2. Pardon My Heart*
3. Too Far Gone
4. Pocahontas
5. No One Seems To Know

* Recording originally featured on ‘Zuma’. All other songs are non-album tracks.

pre-order neil young and crazy horse’s ‘dume’ here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up