Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
20 May 2021

Muse Announce 20th Anniversary Edition Of ‘Origin Of Symmetry’

Muse origin reissue
Spread the love

Muse celebrate the twentieth anniversary of Origin Of Symmetry with the release of Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX on Warner Records. The new edition features remixed and remastered audio plus reimagined artwork and will be released on digital formats on 18 June, with two vinyl packages to follow on 9 July.

For this new edition, Muse asked their Grammy-winning producer Rich Costey to revisit the original recordings. The band and Costey were keen to provide a renewed clarity, with a more open, dynamic and less “crushed” sound. According to the band, “This highlights parts and ideas previously buried or muted on the original mixes, like a harpsichord on Micro Cuts and Abbey Road-recorded strings on Citizen Erased, Megalomania and Space Dementia.” The XX Anniversary RemiXX also adds Futurism to the tracklist, originally a bonus track on the Japanese edition of the album.

Singer and guitarist Matt Bellamy said: “In revisiting the album what we found was the original mixes on the singles, like ‘Plug In Baby’ and ‘Bliss’, were pretty good so they were the hardest ones to improve. It was the deeper album tracks like ‘Micro Cuts’ where we were able to make massive breakthroughs.”

Origin of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX is now available to pre-order / pre-save on digital formats here, with Citizen Erased provided as an instant download. A limited edition exclusive 140 gram coloured double-vinyl set is available here. It will also be released on double black vinyl, which can be pre-ordered here.

Origin of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX tracklist:

Side M
1. New Born
2. Bliss

Side U
3. Space Dementia
4. Hyper Music
5. Plug In Baby

Side S
6. Citizen Erased
7. Micro Cuts
8. Screenager
9. Darkshines

Side E
10. Feeling Good
11. Futurism
12. Megalomania

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up