Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
31 May 2021

Morrissey Reveals Details Of New Album, ‘Bonfire Of Teenagers’

Morrissey New Album Bonfire Of Teenagers
Photo: Francesca Moore/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Morrissey has revealed details a new album, Bonfire Of Teenagers, which he describes as “the best album of my life”.

The former Smiths singer’s first since leaving his label deal with BMG, will be sold to the highest record label bidder.

Announced via the singer’s website, Bonfire Of Teenagers has 11 tracks, and was recently completed in Los Angeles. No release date has yet been announced.

“The worst year of my life concludes with the best album of my life,” a quote from Morrissey states of the album.

Last November, Morrissey responded to being dropped by BMG in a note on his website. Responding to the news, “This news is perfectly in keeping with the relentless galvanic horror of 2020,” he said, adding: “We would be critically insane to expect anything positive.”

“My three albums with BMG have been the best of my career, and I stand by them till death”, he said. ”Recording them has been a pivotal period in my life, and I thank the previous BMG team and everyone involved for that. It’s still important to me to do music my own way, and I wouldn’t want to be on a label that dictates so specifically how their artists should behave – especially when the word ‘talent’ is notably never mentioned.”

The singer recently hit the headlines after a Morrissey-inspired character was the subject of a recent episode of The Simpsons. During the episode, a song titled ‘Everyone Is Horrid Except Me (And Possibly You)’ was sung by a character named Quilloughby (voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch). Quilloughby is a moody British indie singer and frontman of The Snuffs, who becomes Lisa Simpson’s imaginary friend throughout the episode.

After it aired, Morrissey’s team was quick to criticise the episode and its references, with the singer’s manager Peter Katsis saying the show had taken a “turn for the worst” in recent years.

Bonfire Of Teenagers includes the following tracks:

1. I Am Veronica
2. Rebels Without Applause
3. Kerouac Crack
4. Ha Ha Harlem
5. I Live In Oblivion
6. Bonfire Of Teenagers
7. My Funeral
8. Diana Dors
9. I Ex-Love You
10. Sure Enough, The Telephone Rings
11. Saint In A Stained Glass Window

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up