Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
13 March 2023

Listen To Molina, Talbot, Lofgren & Young’s New Track, ‘Rain’

Molina Talbot Lofgren Young Rain
Photo: WENN Rights Ltd/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Neil Young and Crazy Horse singer have shared a new track, Rain, though it’s being released in a slightly different guise of Molina, Talbot, Lofgren and Young.

The stripped back, folk-flavoured Rain was written by bassist Billy Talbot. As the track unfolds, Young breathes life over the lyrics yearning to escape an inescapable past, memories of a former life steering you away from the present that has currently been built. Young drones the intimate confessions, “No door close can stop the flood”, a line detailing the existentialism that comes from unresolved feelings of what was intertwined between the slow and steady guitar strums throughout the production.

Rain features on the band’s new album, All Roads Lead Home, set for release on 31 March via NYA Records. They previous previewed the record with the song You Will Never Know, written and performed by Lofgren.

The album contains 10 tracks, with songs written by all four members: Ralph Molina, Billy Talbot, Nils Lofgren, and Neil Young. The album started as a pandemic project for Molina, Talbot, and Lofgren, with Young joining later. His lone writing credit here is a live solo version of Song Of the Seasons, from the 2021 Neil Young & Crazy Horse album Barn, which was worked on concurrently with this project.

The album is dedicated to late Crazy Horse guitarist Danny Whitten, longtime Young producer/collaborator David Briggs, and manager Elliot Roberts, who helmed Young’s career for more than 40 years before his death in 2019.

Meanwhile, Young will perform this spring in front of paying audiences for the first time since September 2019, first at longtime bandmate Stephen Stills’ annual Light up the Blues benefit on 22 April at Los Angeles’ Greek Theatre and then at Willie Nelson’s star-packed 90th birthday event at the Hollywood Bowl on 29-30 April.

All Roads Lead Home includes the following tracks:

01 Billy Talbot Band: Rain
02 Nils Lofgren: You Will Never Know
03 Ralph Molina: It’s Magical
04 Neil Young: Song of the Seasons
05 Billy Talbot Band: Cherish
06 Nils Lofgren: Fill My Cup
07 Ralph Molina: Look Through the Eyes of Your Heart
08 Billy Talbot Band: The Hunter
09 Nils Lofgren: Go With Me
10 Ralph Molina: Just for You.

Pre-order All Roads Lead Home here.


Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up