Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
02 May 2022

Janice Long To Be Honoured At 2022 ARIAS Radio Awards

Janice Long Honoured ARIAS 2022
Photo: WENN Rights/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Janice Long is to be honoured at the 2022 ARIAS next week.

The Audio & Radio Industry Awards will pay tribute to the trailblazing BBC broadcaster, who died on December 25 last year.

Radio 2’s Zoe Ball will present Janice Long’s family with the ARIAS inaugural Pioneer Award. As well as being the first woman to have a daily music show on Radio 1, Long who went on to present at XFM, Radio 2, 6 Music, BBC Local Radio, Radio Wales and Greatest Hits Radio.

The ARIAS takes place on Tuesday, May 3 at London’s Adelphi Theatre and is hosted by Rylan. Celebrating the best in audio and radio, there are 25 awards to be won.

Award presenters include Zoe Ball, Tiffany Calver, Vanessa Feltz, Tony Blackburn, Dave Berry, Jess Phillips, Aasmah Mir and Stig Abell.

Earlier this year, in a simulcast with BBC Radio Wales and BBC Radio Merseyside, Zoe Ball hosted a tribute programme to the late radio presenter. ‘Janice Long: A Life In Music’ aired at 7-9pm on Sunday, January 23.

Janice Long started her trailblazing radio career in 1979 as an assistant and then the presenter of ‘Streetlife’ on BBC Radio Merseyside.

She came to Radio 1 from 1982-1987, after Paul Gambaccini recommended her as the best interviewer he had encountered on a nationwide book tour. She was the first woman to be given a national daily show. Fellow Radio 1 pioneer Annie Nightingale remembers Long making her mark as the first female presenter of Top Of The Pops, in partnership with her friend John Peel.

The tribute show also recognised Long’s support for many musicians, including early sessions and airtime for acts including Adele, The Smiths, Primal Scream, Amy Winehouse and the Manic Street Preachers. Long broadcast on Radio 2 until 2017.

Other contributors to the programme included Noddy Holder, Fi Glover, Richard Hawley, Jim Kerr of Simple Minds, Nell Bryden, Ian Broudie of The Lightning Seeds, Sandie Shaw, Jack Savoretti, Peter Hook of New Order, Jo Whiley, Greg James, Chris Difford, Gary Numan, Pete Wylie, Maggie Philbin, Bob Harris and Adam Walton of BBC Radio Wales.

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up