Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
21 April 2023

Ed Sheeran Shares Video For New Single ‘Boat’: Watch

Ed Sheeran
Annie Leibowitz/press
Spread the love

Ed Sheeran has shared the music video for his emotional new single, Boat.

The video, directed by Mia Barnes, finds Sheeran engulfed by waves, reflecting the song’s lyrics – “They say that all scars heal, but I know maybe I won’t,” Sheeran sings. “The waves won’t break my boat.”

“Boat is the first song I wrote and finished for Subtract,” Sheeran said in a statement. “It’s where it all began, and a good way to kick off the album.”

pre-order Ed Sheeran’s ‘-‘ (‘Subtract’) here

Subtract, out 5 May, is Sheeran’s final LP of a series of albums named after mathematical symbols. The album was produced by the National’s Aaron Dessner. Sheeran said of the album in a statement, “As an artist I didn’t feel like I could credibly put a body of work into the world that didn’t accurately represent where I am and how I need to express myself at this point in my life. This album is purely that. It’s opening the trapdoor into my soul. For the first time I’m not trying to craft an album people will like, I’m merely putting something out that’s honest and true to where I am in my adult life.

In a recent wide-ranging cover story for Rolling Stone, Sheeran spoke about the grief he’s faced after the death of his close friend Jamal Edwards, and how his death was partially an inspiration for the new album.

“No one really talks about their feelings where I come from,” he said. “People think it’s weird getting a therapist in England… I think it’s very helpful to be able to speak with someone and just vent and not feel guilty about venting. Obviously, like, I’ve lived a very privileged life. So my friends would always look at me like, ‘Oh, it’s not that bad.’ ”

Sheeran will also be the subject of Disney+ docuseries Ed Sheeran: The Sum of It All, set to premiere 3 May. The four-part docuseries will chart Sheeran’s rise from a child with a stutter to stadium-filling superstar, complete with never-before-seen footage from his personal archives, new interviews with Sheeran and his family, intimate performances, and more.

‘-‘ (Subtract) tracklisting

01. ‘Boat’
02. ‘Salt Water’
03. ‘Eyes Closed’
04. ‘Life Goes On’
05. ‘Dusty’
06. ‘End Of Youth’
07. ‘Colourblind’
08. ‘Curtains’
09. ‘Borderline’
10. ‘Spark’
11. ‘Vega’
12. ‘Sycamore’
13. ‘No Strings’
14. ‘The Hills Of Aberfeldy’

pre-order Ed Sheeran’s ‘-‘ (‘Subtract’) here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up