Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
01 March 2023

Ed Sheeran Announces New Album ‘-‘

Ed Sheeran
Annie Leibowitz/press
Spread the love

Ed Sheeran has shared details of his new album, ‘-‘ (‘Subtract’), due for release on 5 May via Asylum/Atlantic.

pre-order Ed Sheeran’s ‘-‘ (‘Subtract’) here

Aaron Dessner of The National teamed up with Sheeran on writing and production after the pair were introduced by Taylor Swift.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos)

Sheeran explained in a statement: “I had been working on ‘Subtract’ for a decade, trying to sculpt the perfect acoustic album, writing and recording hundreds of songs with a clear vision of what I thought it should be. Then at the start of 2022, a series of events changed my life, my mental health, and ultimately the way I viewed music and art.

“Writing songs is my therapy. It helps me make sense of my feelings. I wrote without thought of what the songs would be, I just wrote whatever tumbled out. And in just over a week, I replaced a decade’s worth of work with my deepest darkest thoughts.

“Within the space of a month, my pregnant wife got told she had a tumour, with no route to treatment until after the birth. My best friend Jamal, a brother to me, died suddenly and I found myself standing in court defending my integrity and career as a songwriter. I was spiralling through fear, depression and anxiety.

“I felt like I was drowning, head below the surface, looking up but not being able to break through for air.

Sheeran continued: “As an artist I didn’t feel like I could credibly put a body of work into the world that didn’t accurately represent where I am and how I need to express myself at this point in my life. This album is purely that. It’s opening the trapdoor into my soul. For the first time I’m not trying to craft an album people will like, I’m merely putting something out that’s honest and true to where I am in my adult life.

“This is last February’s diary entry and my way of making sense of it. This is ‘Subtract.’”

‘-‘ (Subtract) tracklisting

01. ‘Boat’
02. ‘Salt Water’
03. ‘Eyes Closed’
04. ‘Life Goes On’
05. ‘Dusty’
06. ‘End Of Youth’
07. ‘Colourblind’
08. ‘Curtains’
09. ‘Borderline’
10. ‘Spark’
11. ‘Vega’
12. ‘Sycamore’
13. ‘No Strings’
14. ‘The Hills Of Aberfeldy’

pre-order Ed Sheeran’s ‘-‘ (‘Subtract’) here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up