Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
27 March 2024

David Byrne & Devo, The War On Drugs To Feature On Abortion Access Benefit Album

David Byrne Here Lies Love Tony Awards
Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

David Byrne & Devo and The War On Drugs are among the acts confirmed for a new abortion access benefit album.

Noise For Now Vol 2 is scheduled for release on 21 June (the second anniversary of the overturning of Roe vs. Wade), and also features exclusive songs from Courtney Barnett, Faye Webster, MC50 featuring Arrow De Wilde, Big Freedia, Claud, Sofia Isella, Julia Jacklin, Becca Mancari and Seratones’ AJ Hynes.

It will also be available as a one-time pressing on vinyl, and can be pre-saved here.

The announcement coincides with the Supreme Court arguments around mifepristone, an abortion pill that’s used in nearly two-thirds of all abortions nationwide.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by NOISE FOR NOW (@noisefornow)

“We are so grateful to work with these incredible artists to raise money and awareness for independent abortion clinics throughout the US,” says Amelia Bauer, Noise For Now’s executive director. Noise For Now, which began in 2017, was initially founded to stage benefit concerts as well as connect artists with grassroots organizations that work in the reproductive justice field. “We know that when the artists and performers we love speak openly and unapologetically about abortion, abortion is stripped of its stigma. We believe that we can shape our future with art, community, and collective action.”

The first benefit album from Noise For Now, Good Music to Ensure Safe Abortion Access to All, featured Maya Hawke, My Morning Jacket and Fleet Foxes. David Byrne and Devo’s track Empire was included in that batch, but hasn’t been available since then. Good Music was initially only released for 24 hours on Bandcamp and grossed over $230,000 in that timeframe. The collection was then released on limited edition clear vinyl last November in shorter form under the title Noise For Now Vol 1.

Noise For Now Vol 2 tracklisting

01 – Julia Jacklin – Dead From The Waist Down (Catatonia cover)
02 – Courtney Barnett – Boxing Day Blues (Demo)
03 – Becca Mancari – It’s Too Late (Demo)
04 – The War On Drugs – Victim (Live)
05 – MC50 feat. Arrow DeWilde – High School (live)
06 – A.J. Haynes (of Seratones) – Everything is Change
07 – Claud – Spare Tire (Demo)
08 – Faye Webster – Thinking About You (Live)
09 – SOFIA ISELLA – Hot Gum (she version)
10 – David Byrne and Devo – Empire
11 – Big Freedia – Holatta

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up