Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
29 June 2023

Blur Release New Single, ‘St Charles Square’: Watch Video

Press/Reuben Bastienne Lewis
Spread the love

Blur have released St Charles Square, the latest track to be released from their highly-anticipated brand new album The Ballad of Darren, out 21 July on Parlophone.

pre-order blur – the ballad of darren here

St Charles Square comes with just over a week to go until Blur take the stage for two unmissable shows at Wembley Stadium. Damon Albarn said of the track, “St Charles Square is a place where the ghosts of monsters can be found.”

The band will welcome old friend and special guest Phil Daniels for a very special guest appearance on both nights at Wembley Stadium, with Sleaford Mods joining the line-up for the sold-out Saturday 8 July along with critically acclaimed English singer-songwriter and Mercury Prize nominee Self Esteem and London-based electro-pop duo Jockstrap. Sunday 9 July will see Paul Weller and The Selecter open for blur, with DJs Steve Davis and John Doran & Kavus Torabi also set to entertain the crowds at what promises to be two unmissable summer nights in the capital.

The band’s headline show on Saturday 8th July at Wembley Stadium sold out in minutes, with a second and final show added for Sunday 9th July. Last remaining tickets available via Ticketmaster.

St Charles Square follows the first taster of the new album, The Narcissist. Each member of Blur shared a brief summary of the record in a statement.

Damon Albarn: “This is an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.”

Graham Coxon: “The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job.”

Alex James: “For any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.”

Dave Rowntree: “It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted.”

Blur – The Ballad of Darren:

01 The Ballad
02 St Charles Square
03 Barbaric
04 Russian Strings
05 The Everglades (For Leonard)
06 The Narcissist
07 Goodbye Albert
08 Far Away Island
09 Avalon
10 The Heights

pre-order blur – the ballad of darren here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up