Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
09 August 2023

Van Halen Announce ‘The Collection II’ Box Set

Van Halen
Press/Eika Aoshima
Spread the love

Van Halen have announced The Collection II, a new box set spotlighting the iconic band’s second incarnation – singer Sammy Hagar, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, drummer Alex Van Halen, and bassist Michael Anthony – out 6 October on 5LP or 5CD.

The Collection II includes newly remastered versions of four multi-platinum studio albums, along with a selection of rarities recorded between 1989 and 2004.

pre-order van halen’s the collection II now

The journey begins with 5150, Van Halen’s seventh studio album and the band’s first to claim the top spot on the Billboard 200. Certified platinum six times in the US, the record treated fans to hits Dreams, Love Walks In, and Why Can’t This Be Love, which peaked at No 3 on the Billboard Hot 100. The group returned two years later with OU812, a quadruple-platinum smash that delivered four Billboard Hot 100 hits, including Finish What Ya Started and When It’s Love.

The accolades continued with For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, which earned Van Halen its first Grammy® Award for Favorite Heavy Metal/Hard Rock Album. Debuting at No 1 and staying there for three weeks, the album achieved triple-platinum certification. The record produced an incredible seven singles, including hits Poundcake, Top Of The World, and Right Now.

In 1993, the band released its first live album, Live: Right Here, Right Now, before returning in 1995 with Balance, its final studio album with Hagar. The album was another commercial triumph, debuting at No 1, selling more than three million copies, and earning a Grammy® nomination for The Seventh Seal.

The Collection II concludes with Studio Rarities 1989-2004, an exclusive compilation that assembles eight gems from the Hagar era for the first time. Among these rarities is Crossing Over, the B-Side to Balance’s Can’t Stop Lovin’ You, and the band’s only non-album B-side.

Other highlights include the band’s cover of Little Feat’s A Apolitical Blues and the instrumental Baluchitherium, which were originally left off the vinyl versions of OU812 and Balance, respectively. Additionally, the set features two songs the band contributed to the Twister soundtrack – Humans Being and the Grammy®- nominated Respect The Wind.

Rounding out the set are It’s About Time, Up For Breakfast, and Learning To See, which were recorded during the band’s temporary reunion with Hagar in 2004. All three debuted that year on Van Halen’s second greatest hits collection, The Best of Both Worlds.


LP One: 5150

Side One

“Good Enough”
“Why Can’t This Be Love”
“Get Up”
“Summer Nights”

Side Two

“Best Of Both Worlds”
“Love Walks In”

LP Two: OU812

Side One

“Mine All Mine”
“When It’s Love”
“A.F.U. (Naturally Wired)”
“Cabo Wabo”

Side Two

“Source Of Infection”
“Feels So Good”
“Finish What Ya Started”
“Black And Blue”
“Sucker In A 3 Piece”

LP Three: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge

Side One

“Judgement Day”
“Pleasure Dome”

Side Two

“In ‘N’ Out”
“Man On A Mission”
“The Dream Is Over”
“Right Now”
“Top Of The World”

LP Four: Balance

Side One

“The Seventh Seal”
“Can’t Stop Lovin’ You”
“Don’t Tell Me (What Love Can Do)”
“Big Fat Money”
“Doin’ Time”

Side Two

“Strung Out”
“Not Enough”
“Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)”

LP Five: Studio Rarities 1989-2004

Side One

“A Apolitical Blues”
“Crossing Over”

Side Two

“Humans Being”
“Respect The Wind”
“It’s About Time”
“Up For Breakfast”
“Learning To See”

pre-order van halen’s the collection II now

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up