Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
25 January 2023

Thomas Bangalter Of Daft Punk Announces Solo Project

Thomas Bangalter
Thomas Bangalter, portrait illustration by Stéphane Manel
Spread the love

Thomas Bangalter, half of the pioneering French electronic duo Daft Punk has announced his first orchestral solo album — and has publicly revealed his face for the first time, albeit as a realistic portrait (by illustrator Stéphane Manel).

Buy Daft Punk vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

Set for release on 7 April on Erato/Warner Classics, Bangalter’s new album, Mythologies, is a work that was initially commissioned by the choreographer Angelin Preljocaj for the ballet of the same name and premiered by the Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine under the direction of Romain Dumas. Mythologies can be pre-ordered here.

According to the announcement, “As a substantial lyrical work, Mythologies finds the co-founder of Daft Punk reinventing his approach to composition” and that the 90-minute score “shows scant regard for conventional stylistic boundaries,” revealing “a love of Baroque music and traces of American minimalism.”

The project dates back to the autumn of 2019, when Angelin Preljocaj invited Bangalter to write the music for a new work that was to mark the culmination of several years of collaboration with the Opéra National de Bordeaux. The piece was intended for 10 dancers from the Opéra National de Bordeaux’s ballet company, 1o others from Preljocaj’s own company and the house’s resident orchestra. Last summer the ballet opened to the public with Bangalter spotted at the play in a standing ovation with the show’s cast and crew.

Daft Punk officially announced they had split up in February 2021 but have recently been celebrated the 25th anniversary of their landmark debut album, Homework, by sharing rarely seen live footage. Last April they launched an archival website, with rare and unseen material and behind-the-scenes clips.

Thomas Bangalter – Mythologies tracklisting:

01 Premiers Mouvements
02 Le Catch
03 Thalestris
04 Les Gémeaux I
05 Les Amazones
06 L’Arrivée d’Alexandre
07 Treize Nuits
08 Danae
09 Zeus
10 L’Accouchement
11 Les Gorgones
12 Renaissances
13 Le Minotaure
14 Eden
15 Arès
16 Aphrodite
17 Les Naïades
18 Pas de Deux
19 Circonvolutions
20 Les Gémeaux II
21 Icare
22 Danse Funèbre
23 La Guerre

Buy Daft Punk vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up