Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
19 July 2022

The Subways Announce New Album, ‘Uncertain Joys’,

The Subways
Press/Laura Lewis
Spread the love

The Subways have announced details of their upcoming fifth album, Uncertain Joys, and shared a new single, Love Waiting On You.

Uncertain Joys is out 13 January 2023 on Alcopop! Records. The album was recorded and produced by The Subways’ vocalist Billy Lunn, mixed by the Grammy Award-winning Adrian Bushby and mastered by Katie Tavini. The band consists of Charlotte Cooper (bass guitar, lead vocals), Billy Lunn (lead vocals, guitar) and Camille Phillips (drums). Uncertain Joys is the first new album from The Subways since their self-titled fourth album, released in February 2015.

Speaking about the new single, Lunn said: “Love Waiting On You is about the tension between desperately wanting to be with the one you desire and yet also relishing the suspense in being kept from them.”

He added: “From the confines of my bed on tour (or in my rooms at uni), I would yearn for the love of my life, waiting for her messages to ping on my phone, hoping to hear her voice at the end of the line, desperate to feel her touch. Caught in those moments, there was a joyful pain that made seeing her again unimaginably beautiful. Still, there was something wild and ecstatic about missing her so much.”

The band announced their return last year with Fight and earlier this year, released lead single You Kill My Cool, which featured the B-side Oi You Boy Bands.

Uncertain Joys track listing:

1. You Kill My Cool
2. Love Waiting On You
3. Uncertain Joys
4. Incantation
5. Black Wax
6. Lavender Amelie
7. Fight
8. Influencer Killed The Rock Star
9. Swanky Al
10. The Devil and Me
11. Joli Coeur
12. Futures

The Subways are also heading out on a UK headline tour this September. Tickets are available here and the dates are as follows:

21- Sunderland, Independent
22 – Glasgow, King Tuts
23 – Stoke, The Sugarmill
24 – Manchester, O2 Ritz
29 – London, Electric Ballroom
30 – Cambridge, Mash

01 – Brighton, Chalk
02 – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up