Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
12 March 2023

The Mars Volta Announce New Acoustic Album

The Mars Volta
Spread the love

The Mars Volta have announced a new, stripped-back acoustic album. Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón is a track-by-track reimagining of last year’s self-titled album, which was their first in a decade. The band have shared their new version of Blank Condolences is available now, listen below.

“I realized I could finally make a record like this now, I just had to make it happen,” the band’s Omar Rodríguez-López explained in a press release. “That was the experiment. And it was super fun. I feel like The Mars Volta is finally beginning – that’s why the last album was self-titled, because we’ve finally stripped everything away and arrived at what the whole concept was at the beginning. And this acoustic version comes from a profound place, with its own meaning and philosophy, and its own reason for being.”

“It was a fun process,” Lopez said, “And it made me think about the history of record music in the United States. There was ‘traditional music’, which became ‘Americana’, or country music. And the other genre was ‘race music’, which was exactly what it sounds like: music made by anyone who was an ‘immigrant’, mostly meaning black people. So that means everything that wasn’t ‘country’. In other words, all the interesting shit: r&b, blues, rock’n’roll, electronic music… It says a lot about this country.”

Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón tracklisting:

01. Blacklight Shine (Acoustic)
02. Graveyard Love (Acoustic)
03. Shore Story (Acoustic)
04. Blank Condolences (Acoustic)
05. Vigil (Acoustic)
06. Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon (Acoustic)
07. Cerulea (Acoustic)
08. Flash Burns From Flashbacks (Acoustic)
09. Palm Full Of Crux (Acoustic)
10. No Case Gain (Acoustic)
11. Tourmaline (Acoustic)
12. Equus 3 (Acoustic)
13. Collapsible Shoulders (Acoustic)
14. The Requisition (Acoustic)

Ahead of a stint supporting the Red Hot Chili Peppers on their upcoming stadium tour, The Mars Volta will return to the UK in June.

The Mars Volta will play:

16 – Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow
17 – O2 Apollo, Manchester
18 – Troxy, London

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up