Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
16 April 2024

Seal Announces 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Of Self-Titled Second Album

Seal self-titled second album cover
Spread the love

Seal has announced a deluxe edition box set to celebrate the 30th anniversary of his classic self-titled second album. Listen to an alternate version of Kiss From A Rose from the set below.

pre-order ‘seal – 30th anniversary deluxe edition’ here

Seal (Deluxe Edition) is set for release on 14 June in various formats. A 2LP version will be available on black vinyl and a “Milky White” vinyl exclusively from HMV as part of their Vinyl Week. A 2CD+Blu-ray version will feature exclusive Dolby Atmos and PCM 24/96 High Resolution Stereo mixes of the album.

Seal (often called Seal II) debuted in May 1994, showcasing the artist’s distinctive blend of pop, dance, and soul music. Produced by Trevor Horn, the album’s 11 tracks include standouts like Prayer For The Dying, Bring It On with Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman of Prince & The Revolution, and the duet If I Could, featuring the incomparable Joni Mitchell.

Seal topped the UK album chart and peaked at No 15 in the U.S., where it was certified 4x platinum. In the summer of 1995, Kiss From A Rose was featured in the blockbuster film Batman Forever, propelling it to No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and earning Seal three Grammy® Awards for Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Male Pop Vocal Performance.

Seal (Deluxe Edition) unveils 10 previously unreleased recordings, offering alternate versions of album tracks like Newborn Friend and Don’t Cry, as well as a haunting take on Dreaming In Metaphors that features Seal alone at the piano.

The Deluxe Edition collects additional gems from that era, including the B-side Blues In E, a cover of Steve Miller Band’s Fly Like An Eagle from the Space Jam soundtrack, and a version of Manic Depression that Seal recorded with guitar virtuoso Jeff Beck for Stone Free: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix.

Catch Seal on tour in 2024 with his band; please visit for touring updates.

SEAL 2CD + 1BR tracklisting

Disc 1: Seal (Remastered)

1. Bring It On (2024 Remaster)
2. Prayer For The Dying (2024 Remaster)
3. Dreaming In Metaphors (2024 Remaster)
4. Don’t Cry (2024 Remaster)
5. Fast Changes (2024 Remaster)
6. Kiss From A Rose (2024 Remaster)
7. People Asking Why (2024 Remaster)
8. Newborn Friend (2024 Remaster)
9. If I Could (2024 Remaster)
10. I’m Alive (2024 Remaster)
11. Bring It On (reprise) (2024 Remaster)

Disc 2: Rare & Unreleased

1. Bring It On (Alternate Version)*
2. Reality*
3. Prayer Of The Dying (Alternate Version)*
4. Kiss From A Rose (Alternate Version)*
5. Fast Changes (Alternate Version)*
6. Newborn Friend (Alternate Version)*
7. I’m Alive (Alternate Version)*
8. Don’t Cry (Alternate Version)*
9. People Asking Why (Alternate Version)*
10. Dreaming In Metaphors (Alternate Version)*
11. If I Could (Alternate Version)*
12. Love Is Powerful
13. Manic Depression (ft Jeff Beck)
14. Blues In E
15. The Wind Cries Mary
16. Fly Like An Eagle

Blu-Ray: Seal (Atmos Mix & Hi-Res Stereo)
1. Bring It On
2. Prayer For The Dying
3. Dreaming In Metaphors
4. Don’t Cry
5. Fast Changes
6. Kiss From A Rose
7. People Asking Why
8. Newborn Friend
9. If I Could
10. I’m Alive
11. Bring It On (reprise)

*Previously Unreleased

pre-order ‘seal – 30th anniversary deluxe edition’ here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up