Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
02 January 2022

Noel Gallagher Shares Demo Of New Song, ‘Trying To Find A World That’s Been & Gone’

Noel Gallagher Trying To Find A World Demo
Photo: Christian Bertrand/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Noel Gallagher has given fans a taste of the next High Flying Birds album, sharing new demo, Trying To Find A World That’s Been And Gone: Part 1, which you can listen to below.

The former Oasis songwriter and guitarist released a new Greatest Hits album under his Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds moniker earlier this year, but his last fully-fledged studio album was 2017’s Who Built The Moon.

As fans await the arrival of a follow-up, Gallagher has shared a preview of what they can expect from the upcoming album in the form of the Trying To Find A World That’s Been And Gone demo. He also revealed that he finished writing and demoing the LP just before Christmas.

“So we didn’t actually get there in the end did we?” Gallagher said in a message to fans signed up to his mailing list. “I finished writing/demoing the next NGHFB album about 10 days ago. Thought you might wanna hear this little piece which – like last year’s offering – sounds quite appropriate for this New Year’s Day.”

He finished by saying: “Hope you had THE BEST night (as much as was allowed anyway) and hopefully we’ll catch up somewhere in the summer.”

Earlier this week, Gallagher revealed that he is planning to film the making of his next album at Abbey Road Studios. He also said that he plans to record the new album later this month, which might include a couple of acoustic ballads. “One is one of my favourite songs that I’ve ever written, it’s got great chords and it’s very, very sad,” he told The Matt Morgan Podcast.

“In the verses the music is quite sad and the sentiment in the verses is quite strong, but in the chorus the music is quite uplifting and the words are quite sad. It’s a fucking great song.”

Meanwhile, Gallagher will hit the road for a UK tour this summer – see the list of dates below.

JUNE 2022:
4 – Margam, Wales, In It Together Festival
9 – Newcastle, Rock ‘N’ Roll Circus
11 – Dundee, Summer Sessions
12 – Staffordshire, Cannock Chase Forest
15 – Cornwall, Eden Project
16 – Cheshire, Delamere Forest
18 – Colwyn Bay, Stadiwm Eirias
19 – London, Hampstead Heath Kenwood House
21 – Halifax, The Piece Hall
22 – Bristol, Bristol Sounds

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up