Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
17 May 2024

Neil Young & Crazy Horse To Release ‘Early Daze’

Neil Young with Crazy Horse - Early Daze cover
Spread the love

Neil Young with Crazy Horse’s early recordings are to be collected on Early Daze, a new compilation released on 28 June and available to pre-order now. Listen to a previously unreleased mix of Everybody’s Alone below.

pre-order ‘early daze’ here

Early Daze collects the best of Young’s 1969 recordings with Crazy Horse – Danny Whitten (guitar and vocals), Ralph Molina (drums and vocals) Billy Talbot (bass and vocals) and Jack Nitzsche (keyboards, tambourine and vocals). It features six previously unreleased versions of Young classics, including Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown, Helpless and Down By The River, as well as exclusive mixes of songs that would later become fan favourites, including Everybody’s Alone and Birds.

The announcement of Early Daze comes just weeks after the release of Young and Crazy Horse’s latest album, Fu##kin’ Up, a live album of the group revisiting songs from their 1990 album Ragged Glory. Young said in a statement, “In the spirit it’s offered…made this for the Horse lovers. I can’t stop it. The horse is runnin’. What a ride we have. I don’t want to mess with the vibe. I am so happy to have this to share.”

Neil Young with Crazy Horse – Early Daze tracklisting:

Side One

1. Dance Dance Dance (included on Archives Vol I)
2. Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown (unreleased version)
3. Winterlong (unreleased version)
4. Everybody’s Alone (different mix included on Archives Vol 1)
5. Wonderin’ (unreleased version)

Side Two

1. Cinnamon Girl (original 7” mono mix, released April 20th, 1970. Included a guitar outro not on the LP version)
2. Look At All The Things (unreleased version)
3. Helpless (unreleased version)
4. Birds (unreleased stereo mix – a mono mix was released as the B-side to Only Love Can Break Your Heart)
5. Down By The River (unreleased version with alternate vocals)

All tracks were produced by David Briggs and Neil Young except for ‘Dance Dance Dance’ which was produced by Jack Nitzsche and Neil Young.

pre-order ‘early daze’ here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up