Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
30 June 2023

Neil Young Announces Long-Lost 1977 LP ‘Chrome Dreams’

Chrome Dreams Neil young
Press/Joel Bernstein
Spread the love

Chrome Dreams – a long-lost Neil Young album recorded between 1974-77 – will finally be released on 11 August via Reprise Records and is now available to pre-order. All pre-orders come with an instant download of Sedan Delivery, which can be heard below.

pre-order Neil Young – Chrome Dreams here

The legendary lost album was originally scheduled to be released in 1977 and features 12 classic Neil Young songs, now released as Young originally envisioned it. The 1974-1976 studio recordings include two previously unreleased versions, four tracks never before released on vinyl, and will be manufactured as a three-sided double-album with an etching on side four.

The 12 songs on Chrome Dreams may have existed in other forms at other times, and that is part of Young’s creative process. Many of these are the original versions. It is coming to life now exactly how Young perceived it and it has a sense of monumentality about it that conveys its place in history.

Some of the historical lineage of the songs on Chrome Dreams:

– Powderfinger is the early/first solo version, the original.
– Pocahontas is the same version that first appeared on Rust Never Sleeps, but without the overdubs.
– Sedan Delivery and Hold Back the Tears are original versions with lyrics that were not included in later released versions. Both are very different versions than previously released.
– Stringman was included on the Odeon/Budokan disc in Archives Vol II; prior to that the song had only appeared on Young’s Unplugged album in a later version, not the original.

Chrome Dreams tracklisting and recording dates:

1. ‘Pocahontas’ (August 11, 1976)
2. ‘Will To Love’ (December 3, 1976
3. ‘Star of Bethlehem’ (December 13, 1974)
4. ‘Like a Hurricane’ (November 29, 1975)
5. ‘Too Far Gone’ (September 5, 1975)
6. ‘Hold Back The Tears’ (February 6, 1977)
7. ‘Homegrown’ (November 19, 1975)
8. ‘Captain Kennedy’ (August 11, 1976)
9. ‘Stringman’ (March 31, 1976)
10. ‘Sedan Delivery’ (May 22, 1975)
11. ‘Powderfinger’ (August 11, 1976)
12. ‘Look Out for My Love’ (January 20, 1976)

pre-order Neil Young – Chrome Dreams here

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up