Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
25 June 2022

Neil Young Announces 2019 Live Album ‘Noise & Flowers’

Neil Young Selling Songs Hipgnosis
Photo: The Photo Access/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Neil Young and Promise Of The Real have announced the release of a live album recorded in 2019, Noise & Flowers. The album will be released on 5 August and will include a concert film. It will be available in various formats, available to pre-order here. The emotional project documents European shows in 2019 performed in tribute to Young’s late manager Elliot Roberts.

The first song to be shared from Noise And Flowers is Hank To Hendrix, watch below.

According to a press statement, Noise & Flowers documents a nine-date tour that began just two weeks after Young’s lifetime friend and manager of more than 50 years, Elliot Roberts, passed away at age 76. Performing alongside a photograph of Roberts taped to his road case, Young approached each show as a celebration of his late friend.

“Playing in his memory [made it] one of the most special tours ever,” Young says in the album’s liner notes. “We hit the road and took his great spirit with us into every song. This music belongs to no one. It’s in the air. Every note was played for music’s great friend, Elliot.”

Noise & Flowers’ companion film (directed by Bernard Shakey and dhlovelife) emphasizes both the intimacy and ecstasy of these performances. Noise & Flowers is entry No. PS 21 in the Neil Young Archives Performance Series of live releases.

It’s a busy time for fans of Young, as well as Noise & Flowers, Young will soon release Toast, a previously shelved album he recorded with Crazy Horse back in 2001. Described by Young as “heavy and distressed [and] brimming with electrifying tension”, that album – named for the San Francisco studio in which it was minted – will be released on 8 July via Reprise.

Noise & Flowers track list:

1. Mr Soul
2. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
3. Helpless
4. Field Of Opportunity
5. Alabama
6. Throw Your Hatred Down
7. Rockin’ In The Free World
8. Comes A Time
9. From Hank to Hendrix
10. On The Beach
11. Are You Ready For The Country
12. I’ve Been Waiting For You
13. Winterlong
14. F***in’ Up

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up