Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address

By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about WMX based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing privacypolicy@wmg.com.

Back
13 October 2021

Johnny Marr Announces New Double Album ‘Fever Dreams Pts 1-4’

Johnny Marr
Johnny Marr
Spread the love

Johnny Marr has announced detalls of his new double album, the 16-track Fever Dreams Pts 1-4, to be released 25 February 2022.

Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 is the first full album of all-new Johnny Marr music since 2018’s acclaimed UK Top 10 release, Call The Comet. The album is preceded by opening track Spirit, Power and Soul, the album’s electro-soul calling card, described as “an exercise in progressive creative ambition” by DIY, “invigorating” by Uncut and with “defiance in its DNA” by CLASH. Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 is divided into four chapters, all 16 songs make up a fantastically expansive work with a deliberate beginning and end.

Speaking about the album, Johnny says: “There’s a set of influences and a very broad sound that I’ve been developing – really since getting out of The Smiths until now, and I hear it in this record. There are so many strands of music in it. We didn’t do that consciously, but I think I’ve got a vocabulary of sound. And I feel very satisfied that I’ve been able to harness it.”

Marr’s live stream, Live At The Crazy Face Factory, will premiere globally on Wednesday 10 November, and be available on-demand until Sunday 14 November. Especially curated by Johnny, and offering fans the chance to step inside his custom-built Crazy Face Factory studio where Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 was created, Johnny discusses his creative process and life in song writing, alongside a set of full-band live performances from across his career. Fans who pre order the album from the official artist store HERE will be able to access exclusive pre-sale livestream tickets at a special price before the general onsale opens at 9AM BST on Wednesday 20th October HERE. Live At The Crazy Face Factory will be available worldwide & premieres at the following equivalent local times on 10 November.

Premiere # 1 – 8pm AEDT / 9am GMT
Premiere # 2 – 8pm GMT / 9pm CET
Premiere # 3 – 8pm EST / 5pm PST
Premiere # 4 – 11pm EST / 8pm PST

Fever Dreams Pts 1-4 explores a multitude of concepts and themes. Because the wider world effectively shut down during its creation, Marr’s focus was pushed into both his interior life, and evoking the emotional and psychological states of others. “It’s an inspired record, and I couldn’t wait to get in and record every day,” he says. “But I had to go inwards.”

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up