Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address

By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about WMX based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing

20 July 2021

Iron Maiden Announce New Album, ‘Senjutsu’

Iron Maiden Senjutsu Highest Billboard Placing
Photo: Reuters/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

Iron Maiden have announced the release of their 17th studio album, Senjutsu, the band’s first in six years, on 3 September. It was recorded in Paris with longstanding producer Kevin Shirley and co-produced by Steve Harris.

It was preceded on Thursday, 15 July by an already highly acclaimed animated video for the first single, The Writing On The Wall, made by BlinkInk based on a concept by singer Bruce Dickinson with two former Pixar executives. It followed a month-long teaser campaign and global “treasure hunt” for clues about the track title and concept.

For Senjutsu — loosely translated as “tactics and strategy” — the band once again enlisted the services of Mark Wilkinson to create the spectacular Samurai themed cover artwork, based on an idea by bassist Steve Harris. With a running time of a little under 82 minutes, Senjutsu, like their previous record “The Book Of Souls”, will be a double CD/Triple vinyl album.

Steve Harris says: “We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did ‘The Book Of Souls’ in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds. There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

Dickinson adds: “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the ‘Legacy’ tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course, the pandemic delayed things more — so much for the best-laid plans — or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised — in a good way, I hope!”

The full track listing is:

Senjutsu (8:20) (Smith/Harris)
Stratego (4:59) (Gers/Harris)
The Writing On The Wall (6:13) (Smith/Dickinson)
Lost In A Lost World (9:31) (Harris)
Days Of Future Past (4:03) (Smith/Dickinson)
The Time Machine (7:09) (Gers/Harris)
Darkest Hour (7:20) (Smith/Dickinson)
Death Of The Celts (10:20) (Harris)
The Parchment (12:39) (Harris)
Hell On Earth (11:19) (Harris)

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up