Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
09 September 2023

Ed Sheeran To Perform New Album In Full At Royal Albert Hall

Ed Sheeran
Press/Annie Leibovitz
Spread the love

Ed Sheeran will perform his upcoming Autumn Variations album in full at a pair of gigs at London’s Royal Albert Hall on 18-19 November.

pre-order autumn variations now

Autumn Variations will be released on 29 September on Sheeran’s own Gingerbread Man Records and, like Subtract, was produced by The National guitarist Aaron Dessner. Autumn Variations is available to pre-order now on a variety of formates, including “harvest orange” vinyl.

Fans who have already pre-ordered the album from the official store they will be automatically eligible for the show pre-sale. Pre-sale access codes and instructions will be emailed to eligible fans beginning at 5 p.m. BST on 13 September; click here for full information on ticketing options.

“Last autumn, I found that my friends and I were going through so many life changes. After the heat of the summer, everything either calmed, settled, fell apart, came to a head or imploded,” Sheeran said in a press release.

“When I went through a difficult time at the start of last year, writing songs helped me understand my feelings and come to terms with what was going on, and when I learned about my friend’s different situations, I wrote songs, some from their perspectives, some from mine, to capture how they and I viewed the world at that time. There were highs of falling in love and new friendships among lows of heartbreak, depression, loneliness and confusion.”

“My dad and brother told me about a composer called Elgar, who composed ‘Enigma Variations’, where each of the 14 compositions were about a different one of his friends. This is what inspired me to make this album. When I recorded ‘Subtract’ with Aaron Dessner, we clicked immediately. We wrote and recorded non-stop and this album was born out of that partnership. I feel he has captured the feeling of autumn so wonderfully in his sonics and I hope everyone loves it as much as I do.”

Ed Sheeran – Autumn Variations tracklisting:

1. Magical
2. England
3. Amazing
4. Plastic Bag
5. Blue
6. American Town
7. That’s On Me
8. Page
9. Midnight
10. Spring
11. Punchline
12. When Will I Be Alright
13. The Day I Was Born
14. Head > Heels

pre-order autumn variations now

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up