Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
07 May 2022

Dr John Posthumous Album To Be Released In September

Dr John
Spread the love

Dr John is to have a posthumous album released. Things Happen That Way will be released on 23 September. The New Orleans pianist and singer died in June 2019 at the age of 77.

Things Happen That Way was recorded in New Orleans in 2018 and was co-produced by Dr John and guitarist Shane Thierot. Its tracklist includes covers of classic country songs, new material, and a re-worked version of his classic I Walk on Guilded Splinters with Lukas Nelson and Promise Of The Real. Willie Nelson and Aaron Neville also make guest appearances on the album. Hear I Walk on Guilded Splinters below.

Dr John’s final album before his death was the 2014 Louis Armstrong tribute Ske-Dat-De-Dat: The Spirit of Satch. Last summer, The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach — who produced Dr John’s 2012 album Locked Down — announced that he was working on a documentary about Dr John with two of his former managers. The pianist’s estate said that the project was not authorized, with Auerbach’s production affiliates responding, “We look forward to amicably advancing these conversations to collectively celebrate and further immortalize this singular, legendary artist.”

In a press release about the documentary, Auerbach said Dr John “was such a unique individual and a shining example of the great melting pot of American music. From his mysterious voodoo stage persona Dr John, to his real, humble self Mac Rebannack — the street poet, the family man, the junkie, the Grammy award winner and all that’s in between—this documentary will introduce the world to him in a way they haven’t seen him before. I’m still learning bits about him that I never knew, and I hope the movie provides a lens into the story of the life of Dr John.”

Things Happen That Way tracklist

01 Funny How Time Slips Away
02 Ramblin’ Man
03 Gimme That Old Time Religion [ft. Willie Nelson]
04 I Walk on Guilded Splinters [ft. Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real]
05 I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry
06 End of the Line [ft. Aaron Neville]
07 Holy Water
08 Sleeping Dogs Best Left Alone
09 Give Myself a Good Talkin’ To
10 Guess Things Happen That Way

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up