Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
23 March 2023

Daft Punk Share Previously Unreleased Song: Listen

Daft Punk Immersive Tribute Show
Photo: Lionel Hahn/
Spread the love

Daft Punk have shared a previously unreleased track from the forthcoming 10th-anniversary edition of their final album, Random Access Memories.

Buy Daft Punk vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

The Writing of Fragments of Time is a documentary track that dives into the writing and recording of the duo’s Todd Edwards collaboration Fragments of Time. Find the song’s Cédric Hervet-directed video below.

Edwards discussed the release of the new song in an interview with Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1 today. “You’ll hear me laughing because Thomas [Bangalter] came up with some really damn witty lines in it,” he said. He also talked about his reaction to Daft Punk’s breakup:

“I wasn’t shocked by the news because it’s, again, I know them on a personal level, so I know the inner workings of.… There’s the friendships there. It’s almost like when you think about it, it’s like a partnership can be like a marriage to a certain extent. And you have your ups and downs, and it’s just like if the chemistry isn’t there anymore, if it’s just not that you’re not melding together the way you used to, that it’s better to not force something and then come out with something that you feel is subpar, than to just make it finite.”

When asked if he thought the duo might get back together at some point, Edwards remarked, “I wouldn’t count it out.” He continued:

You don’t know what’s going to happen five years from now. You don’t know, maybe the time away will bring them back together. The one thing that I can say, and I’ll leave you at this, is that the amount of people that yearn for Daft Punk to get back together to lead the way for music shows how much the world needs more Daft Punks out there to lead the world in music. There’s a lot of followers, but not a lot of people that are willing to take risks and be innovators. I hope that’s a lesson that producers and musicians alike take away from that and say, you know what? I’m going to take a chance and not worry about failing because they did everything confidently in what they did, regardless of what the public said, they just did it. And they knew there could have been a possibility this album failed. He even said, he’s like, “This’ll be a test to see what people are open to hearing and believing in.” And you know what? It didn’t fail.

Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (10th Anniversary Edition):

01 Give Life Back to Music
02 The Game of Love
03 Giorgio by Moroder
04 Within
05 Instant Crush [ft. Julian Casablancas]
06 Lose Yourself to Dance [ft. Pharrell Williams]
07 Touch [ft. Paul Williams]
08 Get Lucky [ft. Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers]
09 Beyond
10 Motherboard
11 Fragments of Time [ft. Todd Edwards]
12 Doin’ It Right [ft. Panda Bear]
13 Contact
14 Horizon (Japan CD)
15 GLBTM (Studio Outtakes)
16 Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo)
17 GL (Early Take)
18 Prime (2012 Unfinished)
19 LYTD (Vocoder Tests)
20 The Writing of Fragments of Time
21 Touch (2021 Epilogue)

Buy Daft Punk vinyl and CDs at the Dig! store

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up