Skip to main content

Enter your email below to be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Please enter a valid email address
Please accept the terms
18 September 2021

Biffy Clyro & Mogwai Nominated For 2021 Scottish Album Of The Year Award

Biffy Clyro Scottish Album Of The Year
Photo: Bettina Strenske/Alamy Stock Photo
Spread the love

The longlist for the Scottish Album Of The Year (SAY) Award has been revealed for 2021, with Biffy Clyro and Mogwai among the 20 nominees.

The annual award pays tribute to the best in Scottish music, and this year’s award will be handed out at a live ceremony at Edinburgh’s Usher Hall on October 23.

Among the nominees for this year’s award are Biffy Clyro with A Celebration Of Endings, Mogwai for their Number One and Mercury-nominated album As The Love Continues, The Ninth Wave’s Happy Days!, The Snuts for W.L. and more.

For the first time in the award’s history, and part of its 10th year celebrations, music fans are able to purchase tickets to attend the event; one of the most highly anticipated and exciting nights in Scotland’s musical calendar. Visit the event’s official website for further information.

The 2020 Scottish Album Of The Year award was won by Nova for her debut record Re-Up. The 24-year-old became both the first rap artist to pick up the prize, as well as the youngest in its history.

Nova, real name Shaheeda Sinckler, picked up the trophy and £20,000 prize remotely after testing positive for COVID-19.

The full SAY Award 2021 shortlist is as follows:

AiiTee – Love Don’t Fall
Andrew Wasylyk – Fugitive Light And Themes Of Consolation
Arab Strap – As Days Get Dark
Bemz – Saint of Lost Causes
Biffy Clyro – A Celebration of Endings
Carla J. Easton – WEIRDO
Erland Cooper – Landform (Feat. Marta Salogni)
Fergus McCreadie – Cairn
Jenny Sturgeon – The Living Mountain
Joesef – Does It Make You Feel Good?
Kübler Ross – Kübler Ross
Lizzie Reid – Cubicle
Matt Carmichael – Where Will the River Flow
Mogwai – As The Love Continues
Paul Towndrow – Deepening The River
Rachel Newton – To The Awe
Stanley Odd – STAY ODD
TAAHLIAH – Angelica
The Ninth Wave – Happy Days!
The Snuts – W.L.

Sign up to our newsletter

Be the first to hear about new releases, upcoming events, and more from Dig!

Sign Up